Mission, Philippines

My First Mission Field

It was March, 2009 after the missionary training when God assigned me together with my partner, Bella Marie Pesanos, in our mission field in Ilocos Sur. It took us more than a day to reach there. First, we went to the Mountain Province Mission in Baguio and met the Mission Youth Director, then we traveled going to the small city named Candon.

My partner and I in our mission field.

Let me tell the about G. del Ilocos Sur. It was named after the Filipino hero Gregorio del Pilar who died in the battle in Tirad Pass. The place is surrounded by mountain. Anywhere you’ll see mountains, rice fields and tobacco (in the flats areas) and green trees. Water is not a problem, there’s big river called Quinibor that supplies all the water needs in that place. I’ve witnessed the abundance of fresh nature that God created. Woaahhh! It was so wonderful!

Amphibian jeepney. We just crossed the river.

We stayed together with the family of Auntie Mary in a certain village (I forgot the name of the village. There are only about 20 houses). They have no TV, no refrigerator, no washing machine, electric fan or any appliances except for the old radio. Auntie Mary is the only Seventh-day Adventist in her family. Soon, after our crusade, her daughter and the husband of her daughter got baptized. We’re so happy then because every Sabbath, we’re not only 3 who will walk 30 minutes going to the church.

This is our way to the church. I helped the lady.
My partner and I with the kids of Alfonso. This was during the Vacation Bible School graduation.

Our work in G, del Pilar is not really soul-winning but mostly reviving. There are lots of Seventh-day Adventists there who are getting weaker in thier faith. The Vice Mayor, high school principal and many municipal workers are Adventists but they sometimes go to church and they are also wearing accessories in their bodies.

We transferred from one place to another, visiting churches and house churches. Walking hours just to get there (My big legs are the evidence. hehehe). There are no tricycles, taxis or buses to ride. We need to walk when we visit our brethren.

Serving God is a blessing although sometimes I feel like giving up. It seems like I also needed to be revived. But when God called us, He will make us strong and find ways for us not to faint or to be a failure in doing His Ministry. My partner decided to do another ministry and then I found myself serving the people of Agoncillio, Batangas.

Leave a Reply

